Premium websites, encyclopaedias, databases and e-journals
We subscribe to these online resources. Most can be accessed over the internet by entering your library card number and PIN but a few can only be accessed from within our libraries.
Click on the resource title to access it directly or the
symbol for information about it or view the A-Z list of all our databases.
| Multi/Megasearch | ||
|---|---|---|
A to Z of Research Databases, Encyclopedias and E-Journals
- 360 Search
- Search across most of our research databases at once, or in subject groupings.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection
- Searchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). This is the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - 19th Century British Library Newspapers
- 19th Century British Library Newspapers contains full runs of 48 influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of the 19th century British society. This collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as newspapers from established country or university towns; the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands; and Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. Penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also included.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - ABI/INFORM Global
- Search nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Academic Research Library
- Search for coverage of a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Coverage: 1971 - present
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Academic Search
- Academic multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - AccessScience
- The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology online.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Ancestry Library Edition
- A wide and diverse variety of unique content allowing you to trace your family history. With more than 1.5 billion names from over 4,000 collections, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from:
- United Kingdom and Ireland Census Collection
- Birth, Marriage and Death Records Collection
- Family and Local History Collection
- US Federal Census Collection
Access this at any of our libraries. - APAIS - Australian Public Affairs Information Service
- An Australian bibliographic database that indexes articles from approximately 250 periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers and books, in the social sciences and humanities from 1978 onwards. Subject coverage includes current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Australia/NZ Reference Centre
- Access to thousands of full text general magazines and news from
- Masterfile Premier
- Australia/NZ Reference Centre™
- World magazine bank
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Biography Resource Center
- Biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Books & Authors
- Explore the latest genre fiction, essential non-fiction and the authors behind the titles. Browse these and other works, using tools that make finding them and remembering them easy.
Was What Do I Read Next?
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Breakout
- Search for New Zealand awards, scholarships and grants for individuals.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - British Newspapers 1600-1900
- British Historic Newspapers, 1600-1900 is a comprehensive digital historic newspaper archive. It provides access to historic newspapers, newsbooks, ephemera and national and regional papers from British Isles. In addition, there are specially commissioned essays and contextual materials written by expert scholars intended to help non-specialist users with perspective and analysis. This interface searches 17th-18th Century Burney Collection newspapers, and, 19th century British Library newspapers.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Business Reference Suite
- Includes Business & Industry (a multi-industry database with a strong global focus on company, industry and product information) & Business & Management Practices (focuses on the processes, methods and strategies of managing a
business).
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Business Source
- Full text for more than 7,800 scholarly business journals, including more than 1000 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. Also provides full text (PDF) for more than 300 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. Includes US Regional Business News
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Christchurch City Cemeteries
- This database includes interments from the following cemeteries: Addington Cemetery, Avonhead Park Cemetery, Barbadoes Street, Belfast Cemetery, Bromley Cemetery, Linwood Cemetery, Memorial Park Cemetery, Ruru Lawn Cemetery, Sydenham Cemetery, Waimairi Cemetery, Woolston Cemetery, Yaldhurst Cemetery.
This information is compiled by the Greenspace Unit of the Christchurch City Council. - Contemporary Women's Issues
- Multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, "grey" literature, and the alternative
press - with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - CorporateCitizens
- CorporateCitizens holds details of over 80 New Zealand businesses that are committed to building relationships with community and voluntary organisations. CorporateCitizens is a searchable database - the database will give you the best matches of businesses so that you can be more strategic in your relationship building.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Credo Reference
- Contains over 100 searchable and browsable reference books from some of the world's leading publishers, including Bloomsbury, Collins, Penguin and Thames and Hudson.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Discovering Collection
- In-depth reference content in the areas of Literature, History, Biographies, Science, and Social Studies. Very useful for secondary students
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - EBSCO Animals
- Provides in-depth information describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Ebsco General News and Magazines
- Access to thousands of full text general magazines and news from
- Masterfile Premier
- Australia/NZ Reference Centre™
- World magazine bank
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Ebsco Megasearch
- Access to thousands of full text magazines and abstracts. Our Ebscohost access includes:
- Masterfile Premier
- Australia/NZ Reference Centre™
- Academic Search Premier
- Health Source - Consumer & Nursing/Academic Editions
- Business Source Premier
- World magazine bank
- Science Reference Center
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Encyclopædia Britannica Online
- Search over 118,000 articles, including photographs, drawings, maps, and flags, from the complete 32 volume Encyclopædia Britannica, plus Britannica's Student Encyclopædia, and Britannica Junior for younger students.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - FindNZarticles
- Index to magazines newspapers and journals. Includes records from the Papers index - Christchurch City Libraries, Southern regional news index - Dunedin Public Libraries, Publications database - Landcare Research NZ Ltd and Index New Zealand - National Library of New Zealand, and other New Zealand Science indexes, and Te Ao Hou, Te Māori and Te Kaunihera Māori. Index only.
- Fundview
- Search for community funding in New Zealand.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Gale Megasearch
- Search across OneFile, Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL), Discovering Collection, Student Resource Center & Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
- A collection of encyclopedias, almanacs and reference sources. Subjects include health, war, pollution, history, space science, maths, occult, food and fashion. View GVRL titles.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - General OneFile
- A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. Formerly known as Infotrac.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Grolier Multimedia Online
- The Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia is based on the text of the Academic
American Encyclopedia. Our subscription also includes access to New Book of Popular Science and Lands and People.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Health And Wellness Resource Center
- Magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on health and health issues. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Health Source Consumer & Nursing/Academic Editions
- Collection of general health, nutrition and professional health care publications with over 800 full text. Includes Clinical Pharmacology database.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - History Resource Center - World
- Themes and trends from the history of ancient civilisations through to the 20th Century integrating reference sources with full-text articles from more than 100 academic journals, and maps and images. Full-text and facsimile images for over 1,400 primary source documents.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - INNZ (Index New Zealand)
- Index New Zealand (INNZ) contains abstracts and descriptions of articles from approximately 1000 publications. It covers publications from 1987 to the present day, and articles from older publications are being added retrospectively. Index only.
More about INNZ - Kompass Directory
- Covers over 1.9 million companies, 54,000 product and service codes, 23 million product references, 757,000 trade and brand name, 3.5 million executives' names in over 70 countries
You can access this at the Central Library only. - Lands and People
- Encyclopedia of Countries, Cultures, and Current Events. Resource for schools, from Grolier Online.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Literature Resource Center
- Access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Over 90,000 authors covered, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - LitFinder
- Search more than 126,500 full-text poems and 850,000 more poem citations, thousands of essays, speeches, plays and stories.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Māori Land Court Minute Books Index (MLCMBI)
- The MLCMBI database provides easy and quick access to over 1100 minute books between 1865 and 1910, from the Taitokerau, Waikato-Maniapoto, Tairawhiti, Waiariki, Aotea, Takitimu, and Waipounamu Māori Land Court Districts. Index only. For more information see about the Māori Land Court Minute Books
Access this at any of our libraries. - Naxos Music Library
- Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues of over 170,000 tracks, including Classical music, Historical recordings, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Whilst listening, users can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - New Book of Popular Science
- Science for school students, plus Science in the News for Schools: Resource for school projects: includes articles on science, technology, and medical topics, from Grolier Online.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - New Zealand Index
- A collection of New Zealand-related databases where the information is indexed with a short abstract. Includes Newzindex, covering business in New Zealand in New Zealand journals and major newspapers from 1985 to 2006; NZ Science, a collection of scientific abstracts covering New Zealand science writing back to 1840; Newspaper Index (NINX) covering New Zealand newspapers from 1993-2003; Index Auckland, a record of information about Auckland; Index New Zealand (INNZ); The New Zealand Woman's Weekly Index of Names mentioned, 1932-1951; The New Zealand Herald's Family + Notices Classifieds since 2003. Index only.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - NoveList Plus
- Reader's advisory service for adults and children with over 200,000 fiction and nonfiction titles. Use a favorite author or title as a template to locate other authors and titles of interest. Besides locating books to read, users can learn more about books and authors through Author Read-alikes for popular authors, Feature Articles, Book Discussion Guides, and BookTalks award lists and more.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as other reference content to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Oxford Art Online
- Oxford Art Online - the gateway into art research and the access point for Oxford art reference subscriptions and publications. Includes the on-line Grove Dictionary of Art, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Formery known as Grove Art.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
- 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2004.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Oxford English Dictionary
- A searchable online version of the Oxford English Dictionary.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Oxford Music Online
- Oxford Music Online - the gateway into music research and the access point for new and forthcoming Oxford music reference. Includes The New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music.
Formerly known as Grove Music
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Oxford Reference Online
- The Core Collection brings together 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works into a single cross-searchable resource.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Papers
- A selective index of articles, mainly of local interest, published in The Press from 2 January 1995 and the Christchurch Star from 14 October 1998. Index only.
- PressDisplay
- 800 newspapers from 80 countries in 40 languages, with 6 language interface options and translation into 12 different languages. Newspapers are presented as full page replicas with their traditional format and layout, including complete editorial content, graphics and advertising. Today's edition and up to 60 days back issues are available.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Price It! Antiques & Collectibles
- Price It! Antiques & Collectibles powered by GoAntiques.com is the most comprehensive antique and collectible pricing tool in the world. This simple-to-use online resource delivers more than 20 million realized prices on treasures people collect, buy and trade. With a constantly updated and growing database, more than 10 million images and 125 searchable categories and intuitive search functionality, Price It! Antiques & Collectibles is the ultimate identification, research and pricing tool for collectors, dealers, appraisers and anyone in between.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - ProQuest ANZ Newsstand
- A selection of over 30 full-text newspapers and newswires from Australia and New Zealand covering regional and international topics.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Proquest International NewsStand Selection
- A selection of 13 major newspapers from around the world chosen from ProQuest's International NewsStand. Includes The Times (UK) , New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Korea Herald. Generally covers at least the last four years, with some back to 1984. View all titles.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Proquest Megasearch
- Search all of the Proquest databases we subscribe to at once. Coverage includes ABI/INFORM Global, Academic Research Library, ANZ Newsstand, International NewsStand and Proquest Science.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Proquest Science Journals
- Proquest Science Journals offer online access to leading popular science journals, which currently offers over 250 current publications in full text alongside more than 130 titles in abstract and index form, providing instant access to the latest news, research and developments.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Safari Tech Books Online
- An electronic reference library for programmers and IT professionals. We have subscribed to 55 books.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Science Reference Center
- Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Serials A2Z
- Find magazines, journals or newspaper that are available in one of the Christchurch City Libraries' full text databases, either by browsing an A to Z listing - or searching for a title.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Short Story Index
- A detailed index of more than 76,500 stories from more than 4,025 collections. This reference database grows by 4,000 records each year, and includes coverage dating back to 1984.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Student Resource Center
- A comprehensive, cross-curricular reference source for high school and tertiary students. Results for searches on your topic can include encyclopedias, magazine and newspaper articles, primary documents, pictures, audio and video files. You can search for geography and cultures, history, literature, people, science and health.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Te Puna
- Access to INNZ (Index New Zealand), the National Library of New Zealand Catalogue, the New Zealand National Bibliography, the Ranfurly Collection, and He Puna Kupu Māori (Māori thesaurus).
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. Also available at schools. - The Times Digital Archive 1785 - 1985
- Search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - Books & Authors
- Explore the latest genre fiction, essential non-fiction and the authors behind the titles. Browse these and other works, using tools that make finding them and remembering them easy.
Was What Do I Read Next?
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries. - World Book
- All articles from the 22-volume print set plus 3,700 more! Search thousands of articles from the World Book Year Book dating back to 1922! - plus World Book Kids
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries.
EPIC databases
Christchurch City Libraries provides access to the databases purchased through the consortia.

